Czeching that off the bucket list

This weekend I traveled to Prague and met up a cousin of mine from Spain and her friend. While it was VERY cold, we had a fun time walking around, visiting historical locations, eating good food, and enjoying how cheap it is.

I arrived in Prague on Friday at about 11 pm, met up with my cousin and her friend, and since we didn’t know how to get to the hotel using public transportation, we ubered to the hotel. Surprisingly, the uber ride cost 12 bucks, which for a half an hour car ride, was pretty cheap! Later on, we ubered to the center of Prague for food since the hotel was in an isolated area and everything was closed. I have honestly never ubered so much in my life, but since it was pretty cheap and we weren’t sure of how to use public transportation, it worked out well.

On Saturday, we attended a free walking tour around the city. I have never done one of these tours before and I was surprised as to how much I liked it; I got to learn a lot about the city, take pictures, and also learned about the public transportation system. I learned about how for Prague, World War II began in 1938 since the Germans considered a piece of their land as theirs because of the German population. I also learned about the severe floodings that have occurred here which damage the public transportation, homes, and make the city come to a standstill. The tour guide mentioned how many buildings have plaques that recall how high the flood waters reached, with many of them being about 12 feet or higher.

We visited Charles Bridge, the John Lennon Wall, Kafka museum, old town of Prague, took pictures with a guy in a Panda costume, and Frank Kafka’s head monument.

IMG_4199
Charles Bridge
IMG_4234
Charles Bridge
IMG_4320
John Lennon Wall
IMG_4266
Old Town of Prague
IMG_4297
Old Town of Prague
IMG_4258
Head Monument

We walked a lot that day! The tour guide also explained to us how to use the metro system (you buy a ticket for the amount of time you need it for, and it can be used for the metro, tram, and other transportation), allowing us to travel without calling for an Uber.

Later that night, we had ticket to go on a cruise around the city, but we miscalculate time and ended up missing the cruise :(. Instead, we walked around the center, ate those famous trdelniks, and did some more sightseeing before calling it a day and heading back to the hotel to rest before our flight the next day.

IMG_4286.JPG
trdelniks with a bite taken out

This was my first weekend trip of the semester and it was so cool visiting another country in Europe and learning a bit about its history.

Next weekend, I will be in Italy for my travel week, and I am very excited!

 

Leave a comment